Reviews

For Cinema Symbolism…..

“’Movies are the new mythology.’ This is the only book of its kind. You won’t find this information anywhere else. I always check a writer’s credentials first to get a sense of their level of credibility. This author is a lawyer, spent time at Oxford, is a 32nd degree Freemason, and he’s brilliant!

We would all be best served by looking at the world symbolically. The author looks into movies we’ve all seen – or some that we should – and explains the symbolism they contain from a religious, mythological, astrological, numerological, Kabbalastic, Egyptian, alchemical and occult standpoint. Other lenses he looks through are the Tarot deck, Joseph Campbell, and the Jungian concepts of archetypes and the collective unconscious. I love facts and knowledge – things that aren’t obvious. That’s what this book has.

Loaded with quotes and illustrations, this book breaks down too many movies to list here (the filmography is over 17 pages) including The Wizard of Oz, The Exorcist, Monty Python & the Holy Grail, the trilogies of Back to the Future, The Omen, The Matrix, The Lord of the Rings, and both Star Wars trilogies, in addition to looking at the James Bond characters, loads of horror movies (The Shining, Dracula, etc.), the goddess in cinema (the mother archetype and lots of sex), all the different Hermes characters, Gnosticism everywhere, some comedies and B-movies, too.” – Laura (4/4/15) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“‘Cinema Symbolism’ pulls back the curtain on film history to reveal the esoteric side of new and old classics, and some of my personal favorites. Robert facilitates thought provoking questions and critical understanding of the occult influence in Hollywood by combining a handful of history, a dash of psychology, and a sprinkle of mysticism. Think of it like a Secret Teachings of All Films. This one belongs on the bookshelf of every true cinephile and hermetic enthusiast.’ – Brian Turnof of The Mind’s Eye podcast (7/13/15) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“I highly recommended this most recent work by Robert W Sullivan IV, for both those with and interest in the esoteric as well as movie lovers curious about the deeper meanings present in classic works of cinema. Robert examines the classical archetypes that are present in some of the most beloved pieces of film since the dawn of the medium. Don’t assume this is another case of “Illuminati hidden mind control” in the movies. Robert does his homework here and instead of making fantastic claims based in paranoia like so many are quick to do these days Robert examines the modern mythology that has been a by product of the film age. This book is definitely not an exercise in conspiracy theory, rather it is a scholarly examination of the deep mythological elements that have transcended the silver screen to become part of modern societies collective consciousness.

The author, an expert in mythology as well as occult and esoteric symbolism, distills this information in a clear and easy to understand fashion so that even those unfamiliar with some of the more obscure aspects of mythology can easily understand the interpretations present in this book. Walking a line somewhere in between greats like Joseph Campbell and Manly P Hall, Robert further establishes himself among the foremost authorities in this area of study.

By delving into subject matter ranging from ancient myths of solar deity and elements of gnosticism; examining timeless classics such as the Wizard of Oz and Frankenstein and modern favorites like back to the future and star wars, this book will open your eyes to ancient myths and symbols that have existed since ancient days. Whether your interest lies with mythology, classic cinema or both I think you’ll find this and engaging and enlightening read. I highly recommend you pick up a copy of Cinema Symbolism.” – Peter McCarthy (3/3/15) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“Robert W. Sullivan IV is establishing himself as an extraordinary writer/researcher/historian/thinker. This is the second book of his I have read and his attention to detail is remarkable, almost uncanny. If you enjoy cinema and have an interest in history, metaphysics, symbolism, or esoteric knowledge you will be thrilled with this book and it’s analysis of films you have probably already seen but not understood on such deep levels. Joseph Cambell and Carl Jung have tread some of this same ground but Sullivan is their most current descendant. Robert is doing important work that is also fun. Pick it up.” – msp (10/21/2014) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“This is a great read. I could not put it down, and look forward to its sequel.” – christopher arthur (01/23/2015) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“This book changed the way I will view movies, as a matter of fact I have to go back and re look at all the movies that I thought I had caught every hint of symbolism. The messages that are hidden, sometimes not so well, stagger me and I begin to wonder how much I have missed in other forms of entertainment. Robert weaves not only the masonic symbols but astrology and occult mysticism as well. I was very impressed with how deeply his investigations went and the different levels he was able to approach in each movie. That there are literally templates that are a part of our consciousness and they trigger awareness of sorts within us had never occurred to me. I have begun to understand new levels of consciousness and how messages can be triggered within us when we least suspect it. A whole new level of the consciousness was revealed to me and I look forward to his new book with great anticipation. This book is a most enjoyable read and enlightening as well … pick it up and get an education in a very enjoyable way.” – Barbara DeLong of the Night-Light radio show (9/24/2014) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*      *     *     *     *
“This might be the definitive work on that consciousness-expanding event horizon where the Occult and the medium of film meet. Robert Sullivan leaves no esoteric stone unturned—from the activist Gnosticism of The Matrix to the vast Theosophy of The Wizard of Oz, from the dark Magick of James Bond to the wild Satori of Ed Wood. Cinema Symbolism is an entertaining encyclopedia of mystic symbols and themes found in movies, beyond the commercialization of the arcane arts encountered in horror and romantic movies, and highly recommended.

If you are a seeker of the realities behind mundane reality (something films promise but rarely deliver), you’ll gain a lot from this book. I have a feeling that, if still around, Carl Jung, Joseph Campbell and Aleister Crowley would agree with me…and then maybe rush to the movies together after reading Cinema Symbolism!” – Miguel Conner of Aeon Byte Gnostic Radio (8/20/2014) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“If you are fan of movie from all genras, (and who isn’t) and if you have even a passing interest in the occult, Freemasonry, symbolism, etc.. this is your book. Ever wonder why certain movies feature a plot line, device, character, or even a character names? Wonder no more, All those films you love and know are now exposed and explain in the light! A MUST HAVE by prolific author Robert Sullivan, who gives yet another very interesting and informative tome on our modern connections with Free Masonry ! One page and I bet you get hooked. I could not put this thing down, and now am rewatching certain films to see the connections ! AWESOME READ, GREAT BOOK !!!” – BP (8/27/2014) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“I was a fan of his previous book, but really enjoyed having his huge wealth of esoteric and occult knowledge applied to Hollywood films. I research these things, and several of the movies profiled were a surprise to me. Really enjoyed this one.” – Greg (10/11/2014) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“An entertaining read. I love learning all the behind the scenes meanings for the movies! This book is full of researched analysis and points out the easter eggs in our favorite flicks. Recommended.” – Fan (7/29/2014) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

For The Royal Arch of Enoch…..

“I enjoyed and appreciated Robert Sullivan’s The Royal Arch of Enoch. His investigations into the religious, symbolic, philosophical, and mythic roots of Freemasonry are commendable. This book is a must read for anyone interested in a serious exposition on the philosophies behind Freemasonry and the way in which these ideas influenced Masons with regard to the evolution of the Fraternity as well as the greater historical and social implications. I don’t know that I’ve ever read a book that was so detailed and well-researched in most of the areas that are covered. In many respects, the book reads like an academic treatise, but Sullivan also extends his exploration of Masonic symbolism into the present day, pointing out the ubiquitous nature of esoteric symbolism in mainstream culture, especially the entertainment industry.

Sullivan’s tremendous scholarship was apparent even before considering his main thesis – that the apocryphal Book of Enoch was the direct source for the Royal Arch degree(s) – which is definitely controversial. Whether or not you agree with Sullivan’s conclusion is almost beside the point because the evidence he presents is so compelling and his argument so provocative. Even if you don’t agree with him, the book is still fascinating and worthy of consideration. I also want to be clear that I’m not disputing Bro. Sullivan’s evidence or conclusions. The point I’m trying to make, albeit clumsily, is that anytime a scholar presents an controversial argument for the first time, they’re bound to encounter resistance. Bro. Sullivan is a vanguard, on the cutting-edge of Masonic research that is not sanctioned by any institution, so it’s no surprise that this section of the book has raised alarms. Despite the uncertainties some may have about this aspect of the text, The Royal Arch of Enoch is still one of the most impressive books available about the philosophy, symbolism, and history of Freemasonry and is definitely worthy of a spot on your book shelf.

Brother Sullivan has brought some very heavy research out of the halls of academia and official venues of Masonic scholarship to provide a volume that definitely delivers more Light. Highly recommended!” – Greg Kaminsky of Occult of Personality (4/30/14) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“Robert W. Sullivan IV has assembled an astonishing slab of information in this work. It is a book so well researched and scholarly in it’s approach that it is certain to become a volume against which all others will be compared. As a non Mason I had a great deal of new data to absorb but Mr. Sullivan keeps you engaged throughout and I have come away with a new level of admiration for this often very misunderstood brotherhood. While reading the book, I also had the pleasure of interviewing the author and he is as cordial and easy going as one could ever want despite his almost encyclopedic breadth of knowledge. I am a fan, and if you are interested in esoteric studies, symbolism, or history this book will make a fine addition to your library.” – MSP (8/1/2014) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“I found this book extremely well researched and formatted. The story of Enoch or Ha Noch, the Initiated One comes to us from the Bible, but more so from the Apocrypha where he is the bringer of knowledge as well as righteousness. It is through these stories that the thread weaves from these ancient religious texts through Josephus to the beginnings of modern Freemasomry. The Royal Arch is probably the oldest part of modern Freemasonry and is directly related to the story of Enoch. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys delving deeper into the mystery of Freemasonry, ancient religious history, or history in general.” – Judy Hedgcorth, (5/27/14) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“Robert W. Sullivan IV will one day be regarded as one of the most brilliant writers of the current era of Freemasonry. Hands down, this is one of the best Masonic books I have ever had the opportunity to read (keeping in mind that I have a library of over 10,000 related books and spend a good portion of my life researching). Many Masonic writers of recent times tend to end up regurgitating stuff that has been written about over and over for the last 200+ years. This is far from one of those kind of books.

The synthesis of history and the very strongly researched topics of the growth of continental Freemasonry and the Masonic westward expansion of the United States is the first of its kind. The analysis of the Royal Arch system in both the York and Scottish Rites along with the construction and Masonic architecture in cities was very enjoyable and certainly displayed Bro. Robert’s genius approach to the topics. The studies on symbolism are superb and that part alone is worth more than what is being charged for this book. The book is one of the most well-researched books I have read, period.

Another great part of the book is the history of Bro. Dewitt Clinton and the story of the construction of the Erie Canal. Being a life long resident of Central New York, it adds a little more “perspective” when travelling in the area.

If you are a Brother and want to really learn, this is a MUST for your library. I am anxiously awaiting Sullivan’s future works.”

Bret Iddings, 32° (9/2/13) – Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“This is an excellent book by Robert W. Sullivan IV about a degree of Freemasonry know as the Royal Arch of Enoch. Robert traces both the origins of this degree and how it has influenced the architecture and governmental structure of the United States. I had Mr. Sullivan on my podcast recently and it was a very interesting discussion. A connection between the Book of Enoch and how it’s main themes and ideas influenced Freemasonry is a very new and interesting idea. I highly recommend this book for both the casual reader and those interested in the History and study of Freemasonry.” – Adam Sayne (3/11/14, Host of Conspirinormal), Amazon.com (4 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“It shows that the author put an extensive amount of time and research into writing this work and has produced an excellent book as a result. Very well written and packed full of valid information pertaining to Freemasonry and the esoteric. My knowledge has vastly increased as a result of reading this book. Well done Brother Sullivan!” – Shawn M. Gorley, (12/29/13), Author, Freemasonry Defined Editor, Lewis Masonic. Writer, The Working Tools Masonic MagazineAmazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“This book should serve as the primer for the philosophical and rational roots of Freemasonry. Before judging Freemasonry based upon the essays and books that have attempted to sensationalize I would refer people to this book for a well researched look at the historical base and the intellectual basis for the development and growth of the fraternity. It is easy to be suspicious of secret groups and orders and much has been made of this issue in the alternative research community but with good research like this we can be assured that Freemasonry really does come off as a rationalist approach to a brotherhood that seeks the betterment of man all the way around and has deep philosophical roots that go back to the Greeks and beyond. This books should not absolve all “secret societies” (O.T.O., and other derivative or similar societies are not strictly Masonic but Masonic-like) of some of the more lurid tales of world control and behind the scenes manipulations and other similar claims made on them but it should serve to show that mainline Freemasonry is basically a fraternal order that, when followed according to the tenets of it’s formation and the roots that it has grown from, seeks to make better men that can have a positive impact on society and everyday life. This books is well researched and thoroughly footnoted. All and all a great book on Freemasonry. Let us not forget the main premise of the book, that Freemasonry’s “Royal Arch of Enoch” is a genuine historical mystery that Robert does a great job in sifting through. This anomaly shows a whole current of historical thought and lineage that shows access to supposedly lost works before they were “found”. Great food for thought and a great book.” – Theodore Torbich (8/18/13) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“Finally, the facts from “someone who knows.” This author has credibility (a rare thing in this day and age). He is a 32nd degree Freemason and an attorney who attended Oxford University. Finally, we get to explore the truth about what Freemasonry really is and what is has to offer in the way of truth. The book is over 600 pages and is chock-full of illustrations. I am flabbergasted at the amount of information in it. And what’s refreshing is it isn’t the same old, same old. Just about everything in it is something I didn’t know. He covers a wide range of topics, things you never knew were connected. Very relateable. If you’re an American, or interested in U.S. history, this book is a must-read. It’s absolutely brilliant. Well worth it.” – Lilly B (8/16/13) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“The Royal Arch of Enoch divulges the real facts of Masonry. This book goes beyond the façade of pomp, and memorizing the initiates must endure to reveal the true secrets as carefully hidden in plain sight via symbology. I can’t recommend this book too highly. It is the best book (and most readable) on the true nature of this ancient fraternity. Every Mason and Lodge would do themselves and the brothers a service to not only purchase, but read and understand THE ROYAL ARCH OF ENOCH. Masons, or those interested in the esoteric, this is a most highly recommended MUST read. You could spend years studying and thousands of dollars on degrees to attempt to get to what this book reveals. There are “ah ha” moments on every page. Sound like I enjoyed it? You bet !!!!” – Jeff E. Payton – Erskine – of Erskine Overnight (6/02/13) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“A very compelling and well-researched work. I was astounded it was Sullivan’s first book, since he presents ideas and insights like a seasoned scholar. The Royal Arch of Enoch is a spanning work that has something for everyone, whether one is versed in Freemasonry or just curious of their mercurial history. Moreover, the book serves elegant doses of Solar Mythology, Gnostic Heresy, Sacred Geometry, Comparative Religion, Conspiracy Theory, and much more that will fascinate anyone interested in Occultism (or hates it, and maybe can actually get the real story for once). I also liked that Sullivan dares to take on what many other Freemasons often dance around, like the subjects of The Illuminati, the Jesuit influence, and the Freemason vision for a New World Order, among other topics. The Royal Arch of Enoch is as dense as an encyclopedia, but reads like a good conspiracy thriller, except that Sullivan makes a tight case for everything being true. And better yet: the Freemasons are in charge.” – Miguel Conner of Aeon Byte Gnostic Radio (4/20/2013) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“This a great book to have in your Masonic library. This is a well written book and I received great Masonic information from it. Keep up the good work.” – WILLIE (5/30/13) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“Well researched and interesting read. Robert Sullivan has certainly hit the mark on this subject. This is a must have for any serious collection on symbolism or Masonry!” – Orchidman NH (3/16/13) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“Excellently written and researched, Royal Arch of Enoch is destined to become a classic. High praise is due when a book of this quality is published. You don’t have to be a Mason to appeciate the various connections references. I have to say : ‘Walk, don’t run to purchase this book, you will thank me!'” – BP (3/11/13) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“This is a very interesting 700-page opus connecting symbols in all walks of life to Masonic philosophy. It opens up areas of knowledge not discussed on any of the television documentaries that air on cable TV, and I highly recommend it.” – Dr. Robert Hieronimus of 21st Century Radio (2/13/2013) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“In purchasing Mr. Sullivan’s book I was pleased to have had a great read that provides insights into both Blue Lodge Masonry and the collateral or “higher” degrees. There is a fine line to be walked when delving into the esoteric subjects and Mr. Sullivan’s well researched text provided insight and entertainment. I would recommend the book as a fine read.” – Charles Matulewicz (2/10/13) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).

*     *     *     *     *
“All I can say is this is one heck of a book. A fascinating read from beginning to end. It is obvious Mr. Sullivan did his homework with all the research and history of the Freemasons. Recommended.” – Fan (8/22/12) via Amazon.com (5 out of 5 Stars).